Ribbie’s Bucket List

Me at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

Me at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

Cooperstown.  Another one ticked off my bucket list.  But as a kid, it wasn’t on my list – I thought I’d be inducted; not many kids actually would or should have a bucket list or know what one is for that matter.  The closet thing to kicking the bucket I’d heard of as a kid was the game Kick the Can.  Even for most of my adulthood, if you had asked me what a bucket list was, I don’t think I’d have guessed correctly.  I might have just said a list of stuff you need for cleaning the house.  Kicking the proverbial bucket wouldn’t have entered my mind.  I was never too good with the meaning of proverbs anyway.  I think I have a proverb learning disability.  I mean I still can’t figure out why “a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush”.  I was taught never to handle a bird because it might piss off its mother.  Plus, birds are known to peck and claw out the eyeballs of their handlers and to attack unsuspecting passersby.  I saw The Birds (1963) when I was younger (too young to have seen it) and I am still traumatized by it to this day.

So, I’m bad with proverbs and have lived without knowing I had a bucket list.  For the last 30 some odd years, I’ve lived my life with my head or is it nose to the grindstone, avoiding proverbs, raising two kids with my wife, taking vacations when possible and saving for retirement as best I can.  The meaning of Bucket List finally registered with me when I saw the movie previews of Bucket List (2007) starring Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson.

Ribbie’s Partial Bucket List:

  • Visit all the continents
  • Learn Spanish
  • Learn Guitar
  • Intelligently describe a wine
  • Football Hall of Fame
  • Basketball Hall of Fame
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
  • NYC
  • Niagara Falls
  • Central and South America
  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • Grand Canyon
  • India
  • Brazil
  • Red Sox baseball game
  • Patriot’s football game
  • Globetrotters
  • California
  • Mexico
  • Civil Rights Museum
  • Marry
  • Have Kids
  • Send Kids to College
  • Start a blog
  • Write a book
  • Baseball Hall of Fame
  • Tie my shoe
  • Whistle through my fingers
  • trekking thru Europe in a Fiat Panda
  • Yes concert with my kids
  • DC (really do it)
  • DJ
  • Win the Lottery
  • Enjoy retirement with my wife
2 Responses

  1. how about backpacking through Europe? you can write and check that one off!

  2. that’s right; thank you editor!

Leave a Reply

