Today Is The Day

I had been waiting for this day for a long time.  I packed my car and headed out.  As I approached my destination, I noticed bundles of balloons suggesting a celebration.  Heavy traffic marked the occasion.  Bus loads of festive tourists and students arrived ahead of me.  As I moved closer to the event, I noticed food trucks in the parking lots.  Grills fired up.  Barbecue in the air.  I thought it all a bit strange.  I too was excited about hazardous waste drop off day, but I never imagined it would be celebrated with such enthusiasm.  And I was happy.  As I continued to drive through the parking lots, I couldn’t find the drop off anywhere.  Where were the flatbed trucks collecting batteries, household chemicals and drums of led paint and industrial pesticides? Where was the battery recycling box?  Wait a minute.

I pulled to the side and got on my trusty smartphone to make sure I had the right time and place.  And I did.  The problem was, I had the wrong date.  Hazardous Waste Day was yesterday.  I missed it!  I’ll have to wait another 6 months to drop off my impressive collection of dry cell batteries of all sizes, my smoke alarm detectors that no longer detect anything, my expired fire extinguishers, and a batch of concrete cleaner housed in such an unsightly jug.  Ugh!

Leave a Reply

