120 Million Dollar Scream

Some exceedingly rich patron of the arts bought one of the four original versions of The Scream, by Edvard Munch for 119.9 million at a recent Sotheby’s auction. The winning bid came from a mysterious phone bidder, who must have let out a little scream himself after learning of his acquisition.

Of course, it could have been a prank call.  Anyone could call in, right?  The man might have been a merry prankster, or an addicted QVC shopper, even a kid. If memory serves, The Scream has been the victim of at least one heist, so it would not surprise me if the bid turned out to be nothing more than high jinx.

I suppose it would be nice to have an original masterpiece hanging in my living room – I’m not sure it would be The Scream if I had unlimited funds to  buy any work of art in the world.  NPR, actually posed this question, but I’m not sure – maybe a Kandinsky.  Years back, I saw an exhibit of his work at the Guggenheim that absolutely floored me.  The Guggenheim, what a building – it’s like a spaceship or a parking deck.

While I like Munch’s The Scream, I’m not sure it’s worth $120 million.   A convincing reproduction on Amazon recently sold for $2.57, the same one I used to own as a 20 year old college kid that prominently adorned my bedroom wall, not far from my copy of Catcher In The Rye.

2 Responses

  1. I can think of 2.5 million other ways to spend that dough!

  2. I’ll drink to that!

Leave a Reply

