Presidential Debate In Song

Imaginary Debate between Mitt Romney and President Obama with song titles

Debate Moderator:  I’d like to start off with you Governor Romney. You seem to have an identity problem and America wants to know, Who Are You?

Mitt:  Well, as you know, I’m a man whose made a great deal of Money but, frankly, I Can’t Get No Satisfaction, if you’ll pardon the expression, when the 99% view corporations as corporations and not people.  And I’d just like to say that I’ve been running for public office all my life it seems; why you could say I was Born To Run.

Debate Moderator:  Mr. President, what do you make of Newt Gingrich’s comment about a space colony on the moon?

President Obama: First, let me respond to Governor Romney’s statement, if I may – Governor Romney you may have been Born To Run, but you sure have been doing a lot of Running To Stand Still.  On former Speaker Gingrich, I just have this to say, Newt I’d like to Catapult you to the Dark Side of the Moon.

Debate Moderator: Governor Romney, what do you make of the OWS movement and the 99%?

Gov. Romney: Well, I think all those hippies have this fascination with Woodstock and think they can all live together under big tents and change the world.  Instead of Takin It To The Streets, they ought to try Workin’ For A Livin’.

Debate Moderator: President Obama?

President Obama:  One thing is clear Mitt, you are No Working Class Hero. Can you Imagine a country where income equality was more than just a dream for a big Dreamer? And you laugh about Woodstock, but let me ask you this: What’s So Funny ‘Bout Peace Love and Understanding?

Debate Moderator:  Ok. What are your views on science Governor Romney?

Romney:  Well, if you think I’m for science, there must be some Misunderstanding.   Now I know as Governor of MA, I may have said some things I didn’t mean about climate change and that sort of thing, but the facts have changed. I think some well-intentioned people are simply Blinded By Science.

President Obama:  Mitt, there you go again.  Are you Rocky Mountain High? Look, if we don’t do something to combat global warming, we’re all going to need an Aqualung. And your pledge to cripple the EPA will have us all chanting, I Can’t Breathe Anymore.

Debate Moderator:  And now for closing remarks.

Mitt Romney:  It’s such a Beautiful Day.  The clouds are just the right height. I love cars, big cars, small cars, mostly big cars though, SUVs, and Nitro Burning Funny Cars.

President Obama:  Let’s Stay Together for 4 more years.

Songs Referenced:

  1. Who Are You – The Who
  2. Money – Pink Floyd
  3. I Can’t Get No Satisfaction – The Rolling Stones
  4. Born To Run – Bruce Springsteen
  5. Running To Stand Still – U2
  6. Catapult – R.E.M.
  7. Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd (album title)
  8. Takin It To The Streets – The Doobie Brothers
  9. Workin For a Livin – Huey Lewis and the News
  10. Working Class Hero – John Lennon
  11. Imagine – John Lennon
  12. Dreamer – Supertramp
  13. What’s So Funny Bout Peace Love and Understanding? – Elvis Costello
  14. Misunderstanding – Genesis
  15. Blinded By Science – Thomas Dolby
  16. Rocky Mountain High – John Denver
  17. Aqualung – Jethro Tull
  18. I Can’t Breathe Anymore – David Gilmour
  19. Beautiful Day – U2
  20. Nitro Burning Funny Cars – Dead Milkmen
  21. Let’s Stay Together – Al Green
2 Responses

  1. This is very good and very clever!

  2. This is awesome. Fun and creative!

Leave a Reply

